Accepting your support
and donations with:

images of credit cards
Join now using our
secure signup form!

Enter your email to join
TBC listserve today!


Hosted By Topica

About the Texas Bicycle Coalition

Group of cyclists on the road with helmets. This is the starting place for information about many kinds of cycling in Texas. The Texas Bicycle Coalition (TBC) is a 501(c)(4) non-profit organization dedicated to advancing bicycle access, safety and education in Texas.

Formed in 1990 to fight bicycle bans on Texas roads, the Texas Bicycle Coalition has become an internationally recognized voice for bicyclists of all types. Whether you ride a road or mountain bike, ride for fun, racing or transportation, are as fit as Lance Armstrong or need your bike for mobility, TBC is your organization.

Headquartered in Austin, and serving cyclists across the state, TBC is in continual contact with members of the Legislature, Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), and local governments.

The TBC Board of Directors *

TBC Board of Directors
Last Year's Board Members
top row
(l-r): Dan Lundeen, Ken Pittaway
2nd row (l-r): Doug Fowler, Bob Spalten, Jeanne Patterson, Jennifer Naglieri, Annie Melton
3rd row (l-r): Nick Gerlich, Laura Rochelle, Gail Spann

Currently 14 of our 16 board positions are filled. Board members come from many walks of life, represent many forms of cycling and live in towns and cities all over the state. Please call the TBC office at (512) 476-7433 if you are interested in becoming a board member.

Chair: Gail Spann, Rockwall
John Bean, Belton
Secretary: Christina Case, Houston

Treasurer: Melanie Oberlin, Austin

Margaret Charlesworth, San Angelo
Tom Edens, Houston
J. Pierre Filardi, MD, Austin
Nick Gerlich, Canyon
Rick Gurney, Plano
Dan Lundeen, Houston
Mark McDonald, San Antonio
Annie Melton, Dallas
Jennifer Naglieri, Katy
Past Chair: Jeanne Patterson, Frisco
Steve Schoger, The Woodlands
Randy Wile, Houston

The TBC Staff

Our office staff has grown thanks to support from Subaru of America, Inc., the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) and our many loyal members. TBC staff is balanced to meet the needs of both TBC and TBCEF.

Executive Director (TBC & TBCEF): Robin Stallings
Education Director (TBCEF): Laura King
Communications/Acting Membership Director (TBC): Lauri Apple
Project Manager (TBCEF): Margaret Valenti
Administrative Assistant / Engineer (TBCEF): Farideh Dassi
Project Assistant (TBC & TBCEF, part-time): Sarah Garza
Special Projects (TBC & TBCEF, part-time): Lisa Wiedmann, Mark Stine
Subaru/BikeTexas Trail Doc: Ryan Spates
Subaru/BikeTexas Trail Doc: Susan Stormer


TBC could not operate without volunteers helping us in our office and in their home cities. Visit our volunteer page to see how you can take part in TBC efforts to advance cycling in Texas.


As a member-supported organization, we rely on your generosity to continue the important work we do for cyclists in Texas. Most of our funding comes from individuals who become and remain members. Joining or renewing your membership is easy on our secure membership page. Join the Texas Bicycle Coalition now!

Retail bike shops, businesses, and clubs are an integral part of TBC's success. Please patronize our many Sponsors. These folks recognize the importance of advocating bicycle issues at the Capitol and their suppport is vital to our efforts. Thank you!

Contributions to our legislation and education funds are always welcome.


TBC publishes a quarterly newsletter, BikeTexas Today, packed with information about legislation, government action, education programs and local issues. Our publication also includes a schedule of supporting rides. Each member receives a copy in the mail, unless they have requested to receive it via our Web site.

We’re always looking for news, so please let us know what is going on in your region of the Lone Star state!

All contents © 2004
Texas Bicycle Coalition